Hardy Myers honored by fellow AGs

A three-term Attorney General for Oregon, Hardy Myers has rarely sought the spotlight. As a result, his accomplishments aren't well known by the public.

But his national leadership on a number of issues has been recognized by his peers. Last week, the National Association of Attorneys General awarded him their top honor - the Kelley-Wyman Award.

From the Oregonian:

"At every turn, Hardy has provided leadership, wise counsel, informed judgment and invaluable analysis," said Utah Attorney General Mark Shurtleff, who nominated Myers for the award.

Myers was elected attorney general in 1996 and re-elected in 2000 and 2004. Last year, he announced that he would not seek a fourth term.

From the Statesman Journal:

Myers was recognized for his involvement in initiatives including co-chairman of working groups on antitrust and consumer protection, a member of committees on homeland security, pharmaceutical pricing, prescription drug abuse, end-of-life health care, attorney general powers and duties, and school and campus safety.

The only other Oregon recipient of the award is Dave Frohnmayer, who was attorney general from 1981 to 1992 and a former president of the group.


in the news

connect with blueoregon