Best Public Policy Wonk in Oregon: Go.

Carla Axtman

My eldest kid is a public policy guy. Apple-tree, and all that. He's finishing up his undergrad work this spring and is looking to chat with some awesome Oregon policy wonks as he tries to decide his next career move. As an assist, I put up a status on my Facebook wall that said, "Best public policy wonk in Oregon. Go." The post generated 61 comments and some really awesome ideas. In fact, it turned out to be such an excellent list, that I've decided to post it here at BlueO. And I'm hoping readers will add to it.

What does "wonk" mean? Some folks who commented on my Facebook thread equated "pundit" with wonk, and mentioned Kari and myself. Under the dictionary definition, perhaps Kari and I might qualify. But for this list, I'm primarily looking for people who work to create and shape public policy in Oregon.

So who made the list on my Facebook wall? Click through the jump to check it out. These are in no particular order, other than this is how they showed up in the comments. Add your own ideas in comments at the end of this post. Don't forget to mention why you chose them:

Dr. Phillip J. Cooper, Professor of Public Administration-Mark O. Hatfield School of Government, Portland State.

Jonathan Poisner, Strategic Consultant

Chuck Sheketoff, Executive Director, Oregon Center for Public Policy.

Steve Novick, Portland City Councilor Elect.

Ben Cannon, Education adviser to Governor John Kitzhaber

Christy Splitt, Lobbyist-Oregon Conservation Network.

Jefferson Smith, former Bus Project Executive Director and former state legislator.

Noah Siegel, Director of International Affairs, City of Portland.

Jon Isaacs, co-owner/principal at Innovative Campaign Strategies.

Dmitri Palmateer, Legislative Director, Governor John Kitzhaber's office.

Jody Wiser, Founder, Tax Fairness Oregon.

Jeff Merkley, U.S. Senator.

Duke Shephard, Policy Adviser, Governor John Kitzhaber.

Chris Lowe, Strategic Researcher at We Are Oregon / SEIU Local 49

Arthur Stamoulis, Director at Oregon Fair Trade Campaign

Brett Hamilton, Executive Director, Tobacco-Free Coalition of Oregon.

Felisa Hagins,Political Director at SEIU Local 49.

Jules Bailey, Oregon State Representative.

Duncan Wyse, President, Oregon Business Council.

Tim Nesbitt, opinion columnist, Oregonian. (Maybe still a policy adviser to Gov. Kitzhaber? )

Laurie Wimmer, Government Relations Consultant, Oregon Education Association.

Tina Kotek, Oregon House Speaker-Elect.

Marissa Madrigal, Chief of Staff, Multnomah County Chair Jeff Cogen.

Carmen Rubio, Executive Director, The Latino Network.

Jesse Beason, Executive Director at Proud Ground.

Nolan Leinhart, Urban Designer at Zimmer Gunsul Frasca Architects, LLP

Charles McGee, President and CEO of Black Parent Initiative

Andrew Riley Public Policy Director at the Center for Intercultural Organizing.

Scott Nelson, Jobs & Economy Adviser, Governor John Kitzhaber.

Amy Hojnowski, Political Director for Planned Parenthood Advocates of Oregon

Ty Schwoeffermann, Health Equity Organizer at The Urban League of Portland

Jeanne Atkins, State Director, US Senator Jeff Merkley's office.

Connie Seeley, Chief of Staff, Oregon Health Sciences University.

Abigail Tibbs, District Director, Congresswoman Suzanne Bonamici.

Maura Roche Principal at StrategyWorks NW LLC

Kristen Leonard, Government Relations specialist.

Amelia Porterfield, Chief of Staff, Oregon House Democrats.

Melissa Unger, Executive Director, Future PAC.

Angela Wilhelms, Chief of Staff, Rep. Bruce Hanna.


connect with blueoregon